• FR
  • Support
  • Sign In
  • Blog
  • Forum
  • Facebook
  • Search

Accessibility Services

At VMedia, we want to address the needs and issues of all our customers and we are working to improve the accessibility of our products and our services. We recognize that this is an ongoing process and one that requires an understanding of the barriers and challenges so that we can develop features and offerings that serve our community.

VMedia TV

VMedia seeks to provide services that allow visually impaired customers to experience and get the most out of their TV services.

VMedia offers channels targeted at viewers with visual or hearing impairments, such as AMI-audio and AMI-TV. (See below.)

We are also currently working on Described Video programming to better serve visually impaired customers. Described Video, or DV, is additional audio content that accompanies the regular soundtrack of a program and describes the onscreen action as well as key visual elements. The plan is to offer Described Video Channel Listings as well, with an up to date list of digital television channels that support DV programming.

VMedia is also completing its work on its Closed Captioning function and expects to soon have available, as an option, closed caption subtitles for both standard definition and high definition channels.

Channels

VMedia offers these channels that are targeted at viewers with visual or hearing impairments:

AMI-Audio

AMI-audio provides a 24-hour English language audio service and online reading service covering up-to-date national and international news, sports, business and entertainment information. AMI-audio features readings from more than 600 of Canada's top newspapers and magazines, including original interviews as well as segments and shows from AMI Contact and AMI Pop Talk.

AMI-audio is available on our dedicated digital channel - Channel 49.

AMI-TV

AMI-tv is a 24-hour television service with in English language programing in news, information, drama and entertainment – all with open described video and captioning (i.e. the DV audio feed and closed captioning does not need to be turned on). Programming on AMI-tv is 70% Canadian content, and features original programming every day of the week.
AMI-tv is on a dedicated digital channel as well - Channel 48.

About AMI

Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) is a not-for-profit multimedia organization operating two broadcast services: AMI-audio and AMI-tv, and a website (AMI.ca). Serving more than five million Canadians who are blind, partially sighted, deaf, hard of hearing, mobility or print restricted, AMI’s mission is to make accessible media for all Canadians. 

Support

AMI has set up a call centre to help with any questions about DV programming. You can call 1 888 895-3016 (toll-free) for 24/7 support in English and French.

Alternative Format

We are developing the ability to offer our visually impaired customers the option to receive their monthly invoice in a different formats.  Upon request and without any extra charges, VMedia will be able to provide monthly invoices in a large font (16 pt).

VMedia Home Phone

VMedia offers customers with hearing or vision issues a number of ways to assist in the use of their Home Phone. The following outlines these items.

Caller ID Display With Name

See who is calling before you pick up the phone. Your phone will display the incoming caller's name and telephone number, if available. This feature is included with all our Home Phone plans.

Call Waiting With Caller ID

You can see who is calling on a second call when you are already on the phone and have the option to place the first caller on hold or send the call to voicemail.

Voicemail and Message Notification

All VMedia Home Phone plans include a user-friendly voicemail system so your callers can always leave a message if you do not answer.

911 Dialing

Safety is important and your VMedia Home Phone comes with an emergency 9-1-1 service that is similar to the traditional 9-1-1 service with certain differences.

Alternative Format

We are developing the ability to offer our visually impaired customers the option to receive their monthly invoice in a different format. Upon request and without any extra charges, VMedia will be able to provide monthly invoices in a large font (16 pt).

Services d'accessibilité

Chez VMedia, nous voulons répondre aux besoins et aux problèmes de l'ensemble de nos clients et nous travaillons à améliorer l'accessibilité de nos produits et de nos services. Nous reconnaissons qu'il s'agit d'un processus continu et que cela exige une compréhension des obstacles et des défis afin que nous puissions développer des fonctionnalités et des offres utiles à notre communauté.

VMedia TV

VMedia vise à fournir des services qui permettent aux clients ayant une déficience visuelle de tirer le maximum de leurs services télévisuels.

VMedia propose des chaînes destinées aux téléspectateurs ayant une déficience visuelle ou auditive, comme AMI-audio et AMI-TV. (Voir ci-dessous).

Nous sommes également en train de développer une programmation avec vidéodescription pour mieux servir les clients avec déficience visuelle. La vidéodescription, ou DV, est un contenu audio supplémentaire accompagnant la trame sonore d'un programme, qui décrit l'action à l'écran ainsi que des éléments visuels importants. Le but est d'offrir également une liste de chaînes avec vidéodescription, avec les plus récentes chaînes de télévision numériques qui prennent en charge la programmation DV.

VMedia termine également ses travaux sur sa fonction de sous-titrage et espère avoir bientôt disponible, en option, les sous-titres pour malentendants à la fois en définition standard et en haute définition.

Chaines

VMedia offre ces chaînes qui ciblent les téléspectateurs ayant une déficience visuelle ou auditive :

AMI-audio

AMI-audio offre un service audio 24 h en anglais et un service de lecture en ligne couvrant les dernières nouvelles nationales et internationales, le sport, les affaires et le divertissement. AMI-audio présente des lectures de plus de 600 des meilleurs journaux et magazines au Canada, y compris des entrevues originales ainsi que des extraits et des émissions d'AMI Contact et AMI Pop Talk.

AMI-audio est disponible sur notre chaîne numérique dédiée : Channel 49.

AMI-tv

AMI-tv est un service de télévision 24 h avec programmation en anglais : nouvelles, information, théâtre et divertissement... le tout avec la vidéodescription et sous-titrage accessible (c.-à-d. le flux audio DV et les sous-titres n'ont pas besoin d'être activés). La programmation sur AMI-tv est à 70 % canadienne, proposant un contenu original chaque jour de la semaine.
AMI-tv diffuse également sur une chaîne numérique dédiée : Chaine 48.

AMI-télé

AMI-télé fournis une programmation télé en français 24 h comprenant les actualités, sports, nouvelles économiques, films, et divertissements, le tout avec la vidéodescription et sous-titrage accessible (c.-à-d. le flux audio DV et les sous-titres n'ont pas besoin d'être activés). Il y a une large quantité de programmes divertissants et informatifs à en profiter, ainsi que du contenu originale qui est diffusé quotidiennement.
AMI-télé diffuse sur une chaîne numérique dédiée : Chaine 606.

À propos d'AMI

Accessible Media Inc. (AMI) est un organisme multimédia à but non lucratif responsable de deux services de diffusion (AMI-audio et AMI-tv), et d'un site Web (AMI.ca). Au service de plus de cinq millions de Canadiens aveugles, malvoyants, sourds, malentendants, ou encore dont la mobilité ou les capacités de lectures sont restreintes, AMI a pour mission de rendre les médias accessibles à tous les Canadiens. 

Soutien

AMI a un centre d’appel disponible pour n’importe quelle question sur la vidéodescription. Vous pouvez les joindre au 1 888 895-3016 (appel gratuit), 24/7, en anglais ou en français.

Format Alternatif

Nous serons bientôt en mesure d'offrir à nos clients malvoyants la possibilité de recevoir leur facture mensuelle en divers formats.  Sur demande et sans frais supplémentaires, VMedia sera en mesure de fournir des factures mensuelles en gros caractères (16 points).

Téléphone résidentiel VMedia

VMedia offre aux clients avec déficience auditive ou des problèmes de vision certains types d'assistances pour l'utilisation de leur Téléphone résidentiel. La section suivante présente ces éléments.

Afficheur avec nom

Voyez qui vous appelle avant de décrocher le téléphone. Votre téléphone affiche le nom et le numéro de téléphone de l'appelant, si disponible. Cette fonctionnalité est incluse avec tous nos forfaits Téléphone résidentiel.

Appel en attente avec afficheur

Vous pouvez voir qui vous appelle sur un deuxième appel lorsque vous êtes déjà au téléphone. Vous avez la possibilité de placer le premier appel en attente ou d'envoyer l'appel vers la messagerie vocale.

Messagerie vocale et avis de message vocal

Tous plans de téléphonie VMedia inclus un système de messagerie vocale facile à utiliser, pour qu'on puisse vous laisser une message au cas où vous ne répondez pas.

Appel 9-1-1

Votre sécurité est importante, par conséquent, votre téléphone VMedia possède un service d'urgence 9-1-1 semblable au service 9-1-1 traditionnel avec quelque différences.

Format Alternatif

Nous serons bientôt en mesure d'offrir à nos clients malvoyants la possibilité de recevoir leur facture mensuelle en divers formats. Sur demande et sans frais supplémentaires, VMedia sera en mesure de fournir des factures mensuelles en gros caractères (16 points).